GiveWP is one of the best-known donation plugins for WordPress, and it now sells as Give, from Liquid Web. It is the closest thing to Tinwell on this list: a plugin on your own site, with a yearly licence and no fee on donations once you pay for a plan. That means the cost comes out close, and the real question for a UK charity is what each plan includes. This page compares both of GiveWP’s paid plans, Pro and Elite, with Tinwell, our WordPress donation plugin for UK charities, feature by feature, using GiveWP’s published prices and plan list checked on 15 October 2026.
The short version
| GiveWPPro plan | GiveWPElite plan | Tinwell | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yearly price | $399about £301 | $599about £452 | £249 + VAT£298.80 |
| Platform fee per donation | None | None | None |
| Card processing | Stripe’s 1.5% + 20p, paid to Stripe | Stripe’s 1.5% + 20p, paid to Stripe | Stripe’s 1.5% + 20p, paid to Stripe |
| Where the donor pays | On your own WordPress site | On your own WordPress site | On your own WordPress site |
| UK Gift Aid | – | ✓A Gift Aid add-on with a CSV export | ✓HMRC wording on the form, a claims page and a Charities Online CSV export |
| Direct Debit | A GoCardless gateway | A GoCardless gateway | Through GoCardless, with pause and resume in the donor portal |
| CRM sync | Salesforce and Zapier | Salesforce and Zapier | Beacon, Donorfy and Raisely built in |
| Peer-to-peer | – | ✓ | – |
Rather see Tinwell than read about it? Open the live demo to try the donation form, the donor portal and the admin dashboard with sample data.
What GiveWP costs
GiveWP has two paid plans, priced in US dollars and billed yearly: Pro at $399 a year and Elite at $599 a year. At the European Central Bank rate of $1.3267 to the pound on 14 October 2026, that is about £300.75 and £451.50, before any VAT added at checkout. The pound figure moves with the exchange rate. GiveWP’s current pricing page shows no introductory discount, and it does not say how many websites each plan covers, so ask before buying if you run more than one.
On either paid plan GiveWP takes nothing from your donations. You pay your payment processor’s fee, which for Stripe in the UK is 1.5% + 20p, the same as Tinwell. The free GiveWP plugin is different: its Stripe integration adds a 2% platform fee to one-off gifts until you add a paid licence, while PayPal Donations on the free plugin has no GiveWP fee.
Elite has everything in Pro and adds seven things: Gift Aid, tributes (gifts in honour or in memory), funds and designations, a form field manager for custom fields, a currency switcher, peer-to-peer fundraising and WooCommerce donation upsells. For most UK charities Gift Aid alone makes Elite the like-for-like plan.
What Tinwell costs
A Tinwell licence is £249 + VAT a year for one website, with everything on the features page included: Gift Aid, Direct Debit, CRM sync and the donor portal are not on a higher tier. Tinwell takes nothing from your donations, and Stripe charges its standard UK rate, which is paid to Stripe. A free edition is on its way to the WordPress.org directory, also with no fee on donations; Free vs Pro sets out what each includes. See the pricing page for the licence.
A worked example at £60,000 a year
A charity raising £60,000 a year online in 2,000 gifts averaging £30:
| Yearly cost | GiveWP Prowith Stripe | GiveWP Elitewith Stripe | Tinwellwith Stripe |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licence | £300.75$399 | £451.50$599 | £298.80£249 + VAT |
| Platform percentage on £60,000 | £0.00 | £0.00 | £0.00 |
| Stripe percentage on £60,000 | £900.001.5% of £60,000 | £900.001.5% of £60,000 | £900.001.5% of £60,000 |
| Stripe fixed fee on 2,000 gifts | £400.0020p × 2,000 gifts | £400.0020p × 2,000 gifts | £400.0020p × 2,000 gifts |
| Total | £1,600.75 | £1,751.50 | £1,598.80 |
| Over three years | £4,802.25 | £5,254.50 | £4,796.40 |
Against GiveWP Pro the difference is £1.95 a year, which is to say none worth counting: both put the card fees through your own Stripe account, so the only gap is the licence, and it stays the same whatever you raise. Against GiveWP Elite, the plan with Gift Aid, Tinwell costs £152.70 a year less, £458.10 over three years. So the choice is about what you get for the licence, which is what the rest of this page covers.
GiveWP’s Pro and Elite plans from its pricing page (givewp.com now sends visitors to liquidweb.com/software/give), converted at the European Central Bank rate of $1.3267 to the pound on 14 October 2026, before any VAT added at checkout. Tinwell is the licence including VAT. All are shown with Stripe’s standard UK card rate of 1.5% + 20p, and per-donation pence fees assume an average gift of £30. Not counted: surcharges on premium or non-UK cards. Logos and names belong to their owners.
Feature by feature
Everything on GiveWP’s published plan list, set against Tinwell. “As Pro” means Elite is the same as Pro on that row. Where GiveWP’s plan list does not mention a feature, the cell says so rather than guess.
| Feature | GiveWP Pro | GiveWP Elite | Tinwell |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taking donations | |||
| Donation forms | Unlimited forms | Unlimited forms, with custom fields through the Form Field Manager | Unlimited, built with a drag-and-drop form builder, in your own colours and your site’s fonts |
| One-off and monthly on one form | ✓Recurring donations | As Pro | ✓ |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay | ✓Through Stripe | As Pro | ✓ |
| Payment providers | Stripe, Square and PayPal, plus 13 more, including GoCardless, Braintree, Mollie, PayFast and Razorpay | As Pro | Stripe and GoCardless |
| Direct Debit | A GoCardless gateway | As Pro | ✓Through GoCardless, with payment routing (for example cards for one-off gifts, Direct Debit for monthly) |
| Donor covers the fees | ✓Fee Recovery | As Pro | – |
| Gifts in memory | – | ✓Tributes | ✓ |
| Offline gifts (cash, cheque, bank transfer) | ✓Manual Donations | As Pro | ✓ |
| Choosing where a gift goes | – | ✓Funds and Designations | ✓Fund pots under a campaign |
| Several currencies | – | ✓Currency Switcher | –Built for UK charities in pounds |
| Address lookup on the form | Not on its plan list | Not on its plan list | ✓ |
| Text-to-give | ✓ | As Pro | – |
| Point of sale | ✓Jovvie | As Pro | – |
| Campaigns | |||
| Campaigns with goals | ✓Campaigns and goal tracking | As Pro | ✓Goals, start and end dates, scheduling and live totals |
| Page components | Campaign page blocks, and Divi modules | As Pro | Progress bar, totaliser, donate buttons, impact cards, supporter wall, countdown, impact map, sponsor logos |
| Milestone alerts | Not on its plan list | Not on its plan list | ✓At 50%, 75% and 100% of a goal, and for high-value gifts |
| Peer-to-peer fundraising | – | ✓ | – |
| Matching gifts | ✓Double the Donation | As Pro | – |
| WooCommerce donation upsells | – | ✓ | – |
| Donors, receipts and Gift Aid | |||
| Donor records | ✓Donor database and management | As Pro | ✓Lifetime giving, rhythm, consent and Gift Aid status, with contact details revealed on request and logged |
| Donor self-service | Donor dashboard | As Pro | Donor portal with passwordless sign-in: history, receipts, change a regular gift’s amount, update a card, pause and resume a Direct Debit |
| Receipts | PDF receipts and annual receipts | As Pro | Editable thank-you emails, resent from the donor’s record, and receipts in the donor portal |
| Gift Aid declarations | – | ✓The Gift Aid add-on, for gifts in pounds from individual donors | ✓HMRC’s wording and address fields on the form, kept against every gift |
| Gift Aid claims | – | A CSV export and PDF declaration forms; GiveWP does not say the export is in the Charities Online layout | An unclaimed view, a CSV laid out for HMRC Charities Online, and gifts marked as claimed |
| Reporting and integrations | |||
| Reports | Fundraising reports, analytics and email reports | As Pro | Dashboard, analytics with period comparison and a PDF trustee report, donor retention, form conversion and donation maps |
| Google Analytics | Donation tracking | As Pro | The form is part of your page, so your analytics see every step |
| UK charity CRMs | Not on its plan list | Not on its plan list | Beacon, Donorfy and Raisely, through their official APIs, with a sync log and retry |
| Other CRMs and email tools | Salesforce, Mailchimp, ActiveCampaign, Constant Contact, AWeber and ConvertKit | As Pro | – |
| Automation | Zapier and webhooks | As Pro | API tokens and a headless mode for your own front end |
| Security and the licence | |||
| Donor data protection | Not on its plan list | Not on its plan list | Encrypted at rest with key rotation, roles and step-up authentication, tamper-evident audit logs, erasure wired into WordPress’s privacy tools |
| Go-live checks | Not on its plan list | Not on its plan list | A security onboarding checklist that seals a certificate for the site |
| Yearly price | $399, about £301 | $599, about £452 | £298.80 including VAT |
| Websites per licence | Not stated on its pricing page | Not stated on its pricing page | One |
| Money-back guarantee | 30 days, after a support ticket | As Pro | 30 days |
| Free edition | ✓With a 2% fee on one-off Stripe gifts | The same free plugin | Coming to WordPress.org, with no fee on donations |
Gift Aid for UK charities
GiveWP is an American product, and Gift Aid is a UK rule, so it sits in an add-on on the top plan. Tinwell is built around it on the one licence: the declaration uses HMRC’s wording and captures the home address fields HMRC needs, each declaration is stored against the donor and the gift, and the claims page shows what is still unclaimed and exports a CSV laid out for HMRC Charities Online. For most UK charities Gift Aid is worth 25p in the pound, so it is usually the deciding row in the tables above. The guide to Gift Aid on a WordPress donation form has the detail.
Regular giving and your CRM
Both plugins take monthly gifts by card and by Direct Debit through GoCardless. Tinwell adds the parts that keep a regular donor giving: from the donor portal they can change the amount, update the card or pause a Direct Debit instead of cancelling it. Each donation, donor, schedule and consent then goes into Beacon, Donorfy or Raisely within seconds, merged into the existing record. On both plans GiveWP connects to Salesforce and to email tools, and to anything else through Zapier. See the guide to Direct Debit donations with GoCardless.
When GiveWP is the right choice
If your charity is not claiming Gift Aid, GiveWP Pro costs about the same as Tinwell and takes more payment providers, connects to Salesforce and to email tools such as Mailchimp, and offers fee recovery and text-to-give. If you want peer-to-peer fundraising, a currency switcher or WooCommerce upsells on your own site, GiveWP Elite has them and Tinwell does not. For a UK charity whose online income is direct donations with Gift Aid, Tinwell includes on one licence what GiveWP puts on Elite, plus the UK CRM sync, for £152.70 a year less.
Moving from GiveWP
Both are WordPress plugins, so you can install Tinwell beside GiveWP, connect your Stripe account, place the Tinwell form on a new page and run a £1 test before changing anything. Then swap the form on your donate page. Regular gifts set up through GiveWP are managed by GiveWP, so keep it active until you have decided how to move them; our team can help with that, and with the whole set-up, through the free onboarding add-on at checkout. The docs cover it too.
See pricing, compare with Charitable, JustGiving, Donorbox, Enthuse or CAF Donate, see six plugins side by side in the best WordPress donation plugins for UK charities, or take the product tour. GiveWP’s own plans are at givewp.com.